Thankful Thursday 3/7

Thankful Thursday 3/7:

1. Saint Patrick’s Day Performance Prep: Being in Irish Dance means the performance season is almost here! Practices have been lengthened and intensified and our performances start this Saturday and will likely be every night until the day after St. Patrick’s Day. I’m excited for this year’s performances, because I really enjoy performing, but I’m also sad, because it could be my last St. Patrick’s Day dancing (at least with this school).

2. Date with Lucy: On Monday, Lucy redeemed her birthday present from me: a 7 hour date. Our time began with running to Kroger to get the needed ingredients for cupcakes (we both love to bake). After making the cupcakes, I was going to take her to Friday’s for appetizers, but we got a little lost (in other words my GPS dropped us off in the middle of nowhere). We ended up going to Cultivate and I taught her how to play dominoes and we had soft pretzels with peanut butter and Nutella and chocolate milk. We headed home to decorate the cupcakes and then watched a movie. I’m going to miss her so much!

3. Cupcakes: We made two different types of cupcakes: the frog ones she wanted to do which were chocolate cupcakes with mint buttercream frosting and little frog faces and then the chocolate cupcakes that I chose with an orange buttercream, shaved orange peel and bittersweet chocolate, and little orange slice-shaped chocolate pieces on top. They were really fun to make!

4. Movie with Dad: I never go to movies, so the fact that I’ve gone to two in the last couple weeks is quite surprising. Dad and I went to go see Glass on Sunday night after dance practice. Having watched the two previous movies with him, I couldn’t go see it with anyone else.

5. Cold Stone: Before the movie, Dad and I went to cold stone, which I haven’t had in ages. I spent about $13 dollars and I got a German chocolate cake flavored ice cream in a waffle cone. It was chocolate ice cream with brownie pieces, caramel, and coconut flakes. Yum!

6. Girls Night: Fat Tuesday brought a night of movies and junk food with Emily and Mom. We watched the last two episodes of Downton Abbey (which we started about four years ago) and had Chinese, fancy drinks, and then Ben and Jerry’s. I think we all felt a little sick by the end of the night, but it was totally worth it.

7. Lent: This may seem like a weird thing to be grateful for, but I love lent. It’s a time when I can challenge myself and push myself to the limit. I guess the rest of my family probably gets annoyed at me, because sometimes I get in a bad mood from lack of sleep or food, but that’s something I’ll have to work on.

8. Retreat: Last weekend (Friday evening – Sunday afternoon) was spent at a retreat in Dewitt (about an hour and a half away). It was an awesome retreat and I think it was really good for me. I did get a little stressed about the lack of stuff on my to-do list that got done, but I’m still glad I went. I got to spend time with friends, but I also had a lot of Jesus time which I’ve been in real need of lately.

9. Podcast: I started listening to a podcast this week called Whoa That’s Good by Sadie Robertson and I’m pretty excited. It’s based on good advice and I’m looking forward to listening to it more on the way to and from dance throughout lent.

10. Latin: I only have two more weeks of Latin to go! As helpful as it’s been to learn it, I’m honestly so ready to be done. That goes for all of my school, but I’m going to have to wait until the end of May for the rest of it…

One comment

Leave a comment